Tennis news
into your inbox

Thousand have already subscribed


Brandon Nakashima defeats Marcos Giron for maiden ATP title in San Diego

In a battle of Americans bidding for their maiden ATP title, it was 21-year-old Brandon Nakashima who raised the trophy in San Diego.

Nakashima and Giron 2022 San Diego In a battle of American bidding for their maiden ATP title, it was 21-year-old Brandon Nakashima who raised the title in San Diego.

Brandon Nakashima battled past compatriot Marcos Giron to win a clash of California natives on Sunday at the San Diego Open.

The 21-year-old San Diego native claimed the 6-4 6-4 victory for his maiden ATP title – he becomes the11th first-time winner on the ATP Tour in 2022.

“It feels like a dream out here,” Nakashima said on court after his 26th win of the season. “My first ATP title in my hometown. To be able to capture my first title here, it’s unbelievable. Amazing atmosphere out here tonight, and I just really want to say thank you for coming out and showing your support.”

Nakashima rises 21 spots in the rankings as a result of his victory, to a career-high 48 in Monday’s ATP rankings.

Nakashima controlled the match from start to finish, winning 30 of 38 first-serve points and saving three of four break points. He broke Giron for 4-2 in the first and won eight of his next nine service points to put the clamps on the set.

After jumping ahead 2-0 in the second set he squandered an early break but hit back with a break to love immediately to regain control at 3-2 in the second set.

He served out his title at love to complete the victory in one hour and 24 minutes.


  • Thanasi Kokkinakis 25, Adelaide-2 
  • Alexander Bublik 24, Montpellier 
  • Felix Auger-Aliassime 21, Rotterdam 
  • Pedro Martinez 24, Santiago 
  • Holger Rune 19, Munich 
  • Sebastian Baez 21, Estoril 
  • Tim van Rijthoven 25, ‘s-Hertogenbosch 
  • Francisco Cerundolo 23, Bastad 
  • Maxime Cressy 24, Newport 
  • Lorenzo Musetti 20, Hamburg
  • Nakashima 21, San Diego

Nakashima, seeded third, notched wins over Zachary Zvajda, Denis Kudla, Daniel Elahi Galan, Christopher O’Connell and Giron for the title. He dropped just one set en route.

Your comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *