Tennis news
into your inbox

Thousand have already subscribed


Players, schedule, format : 10 questions about the ATP Next Gen Finals

All you need to know about the ATP Next Gen Finals, the season finale for some of the brightest young stars in men’s tennis.

Milan ATP Next-Gen Finals Milan ATP Next-Gen Finals © ZM / Panoramic

What are the Next Gen Finals?

The Intesa Sanpaolo ATP Next Gen Finals are the season-ending event for the best male players aged 21 and under. It begins with a round-robin stage, then semi-finals, then the final. Matches are best of five sets, and each set is first to four games, with sudden death points at deuce, and a tiebreak at three games all.

Who will compete in the Next Gen Finals?

The best male players aged 21 and under will compete in the Next Gen Finals. Carlos Alcaraz, Sebastian Korda, Lorenzo Musetti, Brandon Nakashima, Juan Manuel Cerundolo, Sebastian Baez, Holger Rune and Hugo Gaston will compete in Milan this year.

The eight players are split into two groups:
Group A – Carlos Alcaraz, Brendan Nakashima, Juan Manuel Cerundolo, Holger Rune
Group B – Sebastian Korda, Lorenzo Musetti, Sebastian Baez, Hugo Gaston

Where are the Next Gen Finals held?

The Next Gen Finals are held in Milan, Italy.

When are the Next Gen Finals?

The Next Gen finals take place from November 9 to November 13, 2021.

What kind of court are the Next Gen Finals played on?

The Next Gen Finals are played on indoor hard courts.

Are tickets for the Next Gen Finals available?

Yes, tickets are available for the Next Gen finals, priced from €22. They are available via the official website.

What innovations can be expected at the Next Gen Finals?

Apart from the scoring system, the courts are marked up only for singles, and electronic line calling is used throughout. In 2021, there will also be some new rules.

  • Shorter Warmups: Down from 4 minutes to 1.
  • Courtside Coaching: Coaching opened up from the side-lines. No more headsets.
  • Net Cams: Your front-row seat, right at the heart of the action.
  • Limited Medical Time-Outs: One per player per match.
  • Timed Bathroom Breaks: Max 3 minutes (+ up to 2 for change of attire). Clock’s ticking. (as per ATP Tour)

Who won the Next Gen Finals last time round?

Jannik Sinner won the ATP NextGen Finals in 2019, beating Alex de Minaur 4-2, 4-1, 4-2.

Jannik Sinner at the Next-Gen ATP Finals © ZM / Panoramic

Who are the previous ATP Next Gen Finals champions?

Here are the previous ATP NextGen Finals champions:

  • 2019 – Jannik Sinner
  • 2018 – Stefanos Tsitsipas
  • 2017 – Hyeon Chung

Sinner has broken into the world’s top 10 in 2021.

Tsitsipas has gone on to rise to world No 3, winning the ATP World Tour Finals in 2019, although as yet has no Grand Slam titles to his name. He reached the Roland-Garros final in 2021, but dropped a two-set lead to allow Novak Djokovic to lift the trophy.

Hyeon Chung has a career-high ranking of world No 19, achieved in April 2018, but is currently ranked at No 284.

What prize money and ranking points are on offer at the Next Gen Finals?

Prize money at the Next Gen Finals is dependent on results. In 2019, Jannik Sinner won $372,000, having lost one of his round-robin matches. The year before, Stefanos Tsitsipas won $407,000, going undefeated for the entire week.

Your comments

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.