Two-time champion Thiem defeats Molcan at Buenos Aires

Dominic Thiem beat Alex Molcan 7-6 (4), 6-3 on Tuesday night. He’ll face Peruvian qualifier Juan Pablo Varillas in the next round

Thiem Laurent Lairys / Panoramic
Argentina Open •Third round • completed
See draw

Austrian wildcard Dominic Thiem advanced to the second round of the Argentina Open by defeating Slovak Alex Molcan, the No 7 seed, 7-6 (4), 6-3 at the Buenos Aires Lawn Tennis Club on Tuesday night.

Thiem, ranked No 99, will face Peruvian qualifier Juan Pablo Varillas next.

The Austrian improves to 12-1 lifetime at Buenos Aires. He won the title in 2016 and 2018.

In a very close contest Thiem broke serve twice on three opportunities and was better in the bigger points against Molcan. After a trade of breaks in set one he took the opener in a tiebreak. In the second set he registered the only break in the seventh game to lead 5-3 and served out the one hour and 45 minute contest in the next game.

It’s a good energy in the city

Dominic Thiem

“It’s very good memories here,” Thiem, who rises to 95 in the ATP live rankings with his win, said. “I won the title twice.”

Thiem said he feels good in Buenos Aires and appreciates the passion of the fans in the Argentinian capital.

“It’s a good energy in the city,” he said. “We started only at 10 o’clock at night and was still very packed in the central court. So that’s amazing from all the people to stay and to give us a good atmosphere. Very grateful for that and obviously, also very happy with the win.”

Buenos Aires ATP 250, other first-round results (Buenos Aires Lawn Tennis Club, clay, USD 626.595, most recent results first):

  • Juan Pablo Varillas beat João Sousa: 6-2, 7-5
  • Dusan Lajovic (Q) beat Sebastian Baez (6): 3-6, 7-6 (5), 6-3
  • Facundo Diaz Acosta (WC) beat Federico Coria: 7-6 (5), 7-5
  • Francisco Cerundolo (5) beat Yannick Hanfmann (Q): 6-2, 4-6, 7-5
  • Camilo Ugo Carabelli (Q) beat Daniel Elahi Galan: 7-6 (7), 6-3
  • Tomas Martin Etcheverry beat Hugo Dellien: 3-6, 6-2, 6-2
  • Roberto Carballes Baena beat Albert Ramos-Vinolas (8): 7-5, 6-4
  • Jaume Munar beat Guido Pella (WC): 6-4, 7-5
  • Laslo Djere beat Fabio Fognini: 6-4, 6-4
  • Pedro Cachin beat Thiago Monteiro: 7-6 (2), 6-4
  • Bernabe Zapata Miralles beat Pedro Martinez: 6-1, 3-6, 6-4

People in this post

Your comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *