Tennis news
into your inbox

Thousands have already subscribed


Ruud becomes first player outside Federer & Nadal to win Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award since 2003

Casper Ruud won three singles titles and reached three finals in 2022, including his first two Grand Slam finals

Casper Ruud in Buenos Aires in November 2022 Casper Ruud in Buenos Aires in November 2022 Image Credit: AI/Reuters/Panoramic

Norway’s Casper Ruud has been named as the winner of the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award at the 2022 ATP Awards. The award is given to a player for their fair play, professionalism and integrity on and off the court.

Ruud, who reached his first Grand Slam final at Roland-Garros in June and then reached his second at the US Open in September, peaked at No 2 in the rankings in 2022 and ended the season as world No 3.

This is the first ATP Award for the 23-year-old and makes him the first player other than Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal to win the award since 2003. Federer had won the award 13 times while Nadal had won it on five occasions.

Ruud : “I feel very honoured and happy”

“A big thanks to everyone who voted for me for this year’s ATP Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award,” said Ruud. “I feel very, very honoured and happy to win this prize this year. I will try to keep my mood in the right place for next year. Can’t wait to be back on court.”

Besides his two Grand Slam runner-up finishes, Ruud also won three ATP titles in 2022 – Buenos Aires, Geneva and Gstaad) and also reached the final at the season-ending Nitto ATP Finals.

Nadal was among those who congratulated Ruud on the hews, posting a comment on social media. “No way!!! They don’t know you!!! Many congrats, you deserve it 100%! Super happy for you!” the Spaniard wrote on the ATP Tour post announcing the news.

Your comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *