Tennis news
into your inbox

Thousand have already subscribed


Monte-Carlo Masters 1000 in 10 questions: Tickets, channel, schedule…

The Rolex Monte-Carlo Masters is the first Masters 1000 of the European clay season. Check out our guide to know everything about the tournament.

Monte Carlo centre court features a breathtaking view. Monte Carlo centre court features a breathtaking view.

You can follow the Monte-Carlo Masters on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Where does the Monte-Carlo Masters take place? 

The Rolex Monte-Carlo Masters, an ATP Masters 1000, takes place in France, at the Monte-Carlo Country Club in Roquebrune Cap Martin.

The club’s address is :

Monte-Carlo Country Club
155 Princess Grace Avenue
06190 Roquebrune Cap Martin

When does the 2020 tournament take place?

The tournament was originally scheduled from 11 to 19 April 2020. Due to the coronavirus epidemic, the organisers decided to cancel the 2020 edition. The ATP has announced the suspension of all tournaments until July 13, 2020

The next edition of the tournament will take place from 10 to 18 April 2021. 

Rafael Nadal in action in Monte Carlo

On which surface is the Monte-Carlo Masters played? 

The Monte-Carlo Masters 1000 is played on clay, outdoors. The tournament is the first clay-court Masters 1000 of the year. 

What is the size of Monte-Carlo’s centre court? 

The centre court has 10,200 seats. Since 2015, it is named after Rainier III, Prince of Monaco from 1949 to 2005. Court number 2 is called the Court of the Princes.

Who are the defending champions in Monte-Carlo? 

The Italian Fabio Fognini is the Monte-Carlos Masters 1000 defending champion. In 2019, he beat the Serbian Dusan Lajovic in the final in two sets (6-3, 6-4). Fognini achieved a fantastic performance in the semi-finals by defeating Rafael Nadal (6-4, 6-2). 

In men’s doubles, the pair Mektic – Skugor won the tournament in 2019 against Haase and Koolhof (6-7, 7-6, 11-9).

Fabio Fognini celebrates his first Masters 1000 title.

Who won the most titles in Monte-Carlo? 

Rafael Nadal has won 11 times in Monte-Carlo and holds the record for the most wins there. Between 2005 and 2012, he won the tournament eight times in a row. 

Who are the previous winners? 

In men’s singles, past winners of the Rolex Monte-Carlo Masters are : 

  • 2019 – Fabio Fognini
  • 2018 – Rafael Nadal 
  • 2017 – Rafael Nadal
  • 2016 – Rafael Nadal
  • 2015 – Novak Djokovic
  • 2014 – Stan Wawrinka
  • 2013 – Novak Djokovic
  • 2012 – Rafael Nadal
  • 2011 – Rafael Nadal
  • 2010 – Rafael Nadal
  • 2009 – Rafael Nadal
  • 2008 – Rafael Nadal
  • 2007 – Rafael Nadal
  • 2006 – Rafael Nadal
  • 2005 – Rafael Nadal

How to get tickets for the Monte-Carlo Masters? 

Tickets for the Monte-Carlo Masters 1000 are available on the tournament website. You can also purchase tickets with authorized retailers.

Those who had tickets for the 2020 edition of the tournament can be refunded following the procedure explained on the tournament site.

What is the tournament’s schedule? 

The tournament takes place over nine days, including qualifying. The main draw starts on Sunday. Qualifying takes place on Saturday and Sunday before the tournament starts. 

The semi-finals are held on Saturday, and the final on Sunday. Quarter-finals are played on Friday, and the Round of 16 on Thursday.

At what time is the final? 

The men’s singles final starts at 2:30 pm on Sunday. The doubles final is played at 11:30 am on Sunday. 

Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal pose with their trophies after the 2013 final.

What are the draws? 

The men’s singles draw features 56 players. The first 8 seeds are exempt from the first round. The draw ceremony usually takes place on the Friday before the tournament starts.

What is the prize money of the Monte-Carlo Masters 1000 ? 

In 2019, the prize money was as follows: 

  • Winner: €958,055
  • Finalist: €484,950
  • 1/2 final: €248,745 
  • 1/4 final: €128,200 
  • Round of 16: €64,225 
  • 2nd round: €33,635 
  • 1st round: €18,955 

How many ATP points does the winner earn?

For men, as for the other Masters 1000, ATP points are awarded as follow: 

  • Title: 1000 points
  • Final: 600 points
  • Semi-final: 360 points
  • Quarter-final: 180 points
  • Round of 16: 90 points
  • 2nd round: 45 points
  • 1st round: 10 points

How to watch Monte-Carlo Masters 1000 on TV? 

Tennis Channel is the official broadcaster of the Monte-Carlo Masters 1000 in the United States. In France, you can watch the men’s tournament on Eurosport. ESPN International is the official broadcaster in South America. Amazon Prime holds broadcasting rights in the United Kingdom.

Your comments

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.