Players, schedule, format: Everything you ever wanted to know about the 2023 ATP Next Gen Finals (but never had time to find out) – updated after the final

All you need to know about the ATP Next Gen Finals, the season finale for some of the brightest young stars in men’s tennis

Jannik Sinner Jannik Sinner after winning the Next Gen Finals in 2019 (Zuma/Panoramic)

What are the Next Gen Finals?

The ATP Next Gen Finals are the season-ending event for the eight best male players aged 21 and under. It begins with a round-robin stage, then semi-finals, then the final. Matches are best of five sets, and each set is first to four games, with sudden death points at deuce, and a tiebreak at three games all.


After topping their round-robin groups, France’s Arthur Fils and Hamad Medjedovic of Serbia won their respective semi-finals to set up the final. Both men were the first from their country to reach the final.

In the final, Fils lost in five sets to Hamad Medjedovic – it was the first Next Gen Finals final to go to five sets.

DID Carlos Alcaraz play the 2023 ATP Next Gen Finals?

No. Aged 20, Carlos Alcaraz was eligible to play in the ATP Next Gen Finals and led the race to Jeddah. But given that he qualified for and competed at the season-ending ATP Finals, the Spaniard decided not to play in Jeddah.

Who qualified for the 2023 ATP Next Gen Finals?

The field for the ATP Next Gen Finals was: Arthur FilsDominic StrickerLuca van Assche, Flavio Cobolli, Alex Michelsen, Hamad MedjedovicLuca Nardi and Abdullah Shelbayh (wildcard) battled it out in Jeddah.

Carlos Alcaraz and Holger Rune, the top two 21-and-under players in the world, also qualified for the ATP Finals and were thus exempt, while Ben Shelton (medical reasons) and Lorenzo Musetti (personal reasons) have pulled out.

Where are the Next Gen Finals held?

The ATP Next Gen Finals were held at the King Abdullah Sports City in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia in 2023. It follows five editions of the tournament at the Allianz Cloud in Milan, Italy.

What is the format of the 2023 Next Gen ATP Finals?

The event sees players divided into two groups of four, with the top two from each group advancing to the semi-finals. Matches are played best of five sets and first-to-four games.

When WEre the Next Gen Finals PLAYED IN 2023?

The Next Gen finals took place from November 28 to December 2, 2023.

What kind of surface are the Next Gen Finals played on?

The Next Gen Finals are played on indoor hard courts.

Who won the Next Gen Finals in 2022?

Brandon Nakashima won the 2022 ATP Next Gen Finals, beating Jiri Lehecka 4-3 (5), 4-3 (6), 4-2.

Who are the previous ATP Next Gen Finals champions?

Here are the previous ATP Next Gen Finals champions:

2022 – Brandon Nakashima
2021 – Carlos Alcaraz
2020 – Not held
2019 – Jannik Sinner
2018 – Stefanos Tsitsipas
2017 – Hyeon Chung

Previous winners have gone on to achieve great things.

Carlos Alcaraz became the youngest ever world No 1 when he won his first Grand Slam title at the US Open in September 2022. He won Wimbledon in 2023.

Sinner broke into the world’s top 10 in 2021 and the world’s top four in 2023.

Tsitsipas has gone on to rise to world No 3, winning the ATP World Tour Finals in 2019, although as yet has no Grand Slam titles to his name. He reached the Roland-Garros final in 2021, but dropped a two-set lead to allow Novak Djokovic to lift the trophy. He also lost to Djokovic in the 2023 Australian Open final.

Hyeon Chung has a career-high ranking of world No 19, achieved in April 2018, but has struggled with a serious wrist injury.

What prizes are on offer at the Next Gen Finals?

Total prize money at the 2023 Next Gen Finals is $2 million.

  • Undefeated Winner: $514,000
  • Final Win: $153,000
  • Semi-Final Win: $113,500
  • Each win in the Round-Robin stage Win: $32,500
  • Participation Fee: $150,000
  • Alternate: $15,000

People in this post

Your comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *