Rome Masters 1000 / WTA Premier in 10 questions: Tickets, channel, schedule…


The Rome Masters 1000 and WTA Premier is one of the biggest clay-court tournament of the season. Check out our guide to know everything.

You can follow the Italian Open on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Where do the Rome Masters 1000 and the Rome WTA Premier take place? 

The Internazionali BNL d’Italia, for Italian Open, an ATP Masters 1000 and WTA Premier tournament, is held in Italy on the courts of the Foro Italico sports complex. Located in the north of Rome, in the Della Vittoria district, the complex was built between 1928 and 1938, during the Fascist period, and hosted the 1960 Olympic Games. Tennis courts are thus right next to Rome’s Olympic Stadium.

The stadium’s address is: Viale del Foro Italico, 00135 Roma RM, Italy. 

When does the 2020 tournament take place?

Due to the coronavirus outbreak, the 2020 edition will not be held on the scheduled dates, from May 10 to May 17 2020. The ATP and WTA Tours have announced the suspension of all tournaments until July 13 2020.

Still the Italian Open is, for now, not subject to cancellation, but to temporary suspension. On its website, the tournament explains that it is considering “whether it is possible to reschedule the Internationali BNL d’Italia on a new date in the second half of the year”.

The tournament usually takes place two weeks before Roland-Garros’ debut. 

On which surface is the Italian Open played? 

The Internazionali BNL d’Italia is played on clay courts, outdoors. It is the third and last clay-court Masters 1000 of the season, after those in Monte-Carlo and Madrid.

Which are the main courts of the Italian Open? What is the size of Rome’s centre court? 

The three main courts are the “Centrale”, the “Grandstand”, and the “Pietrangeli”. The Centre Court has 10,500 seats. The Grandstand has a capacity of 5,000 seats. The Pietrangeli court has 3,720 seats, and is famous for being surrounded by statues. Up to 6,000 people can mass on the 12 secondary courts. None of the courts is covered. However, the Centre Court is equipped with a floodlight, allowing night sessions to be scheduled. 

Rome central court can host 12,500 fans.

Who are the Italian Open defending champions? 

In men’s singles, Spain’s Rafael Nadal is the reigning champion. In 2019, he defeated world number 1 Novak Djokovic in three sets (6-0, 4-6, 6-1). For the first time in their 52 match, 152 set rivalry, a bagel had been scored.

In women’s singles, Czech Karolína Plíšková is the defending champion. In 2019, she defeated the British Johanna Konta in straight sets (6-3, 6-4).

Russia’s Victoria Azarenka and Australia’s Ashleigh Barty are defending champions in women’s doubles. In 2019, they defeated Groenefeld – Schuurs in the final in three sets (4-6, 6-0, 10-3). 

Colombia’s Juan Sebastián Cabal and Robert Farah are the defending champions in men’s doubles. In 2019, they defeated the pair Klaasen – Venus in two sets (6-1, 6-3). 

Who holds the title record in Rome? / Who won the most titles in Rome? 

In men’s singles, Spain’s Rafael Nadal holds the record for most titles, with nine crowns, having played eleven finals. In women’s singles, the American Chris Evert won the most titles: she is a five-time champion, having played seven finals. 

Rafael Nadal, 2019 Rome Masters 1000's winner

Who were the previous winners of the Italian Open? 

Over the last 15 years, in the men’s singles : 

  • 2019 – Rafael Nadal
  • 2018 – Rafael Nadal
  • 2017 – Alexander Zverev
  • 2016 – Andy Murray
  • 2015 – Novak Djokovic
  • 2014 – Novak Djokovic
  • 2013 – Rafael Nadal
  • 2012 – Rafael Nadal
  • 2011 – Novak Djokovic
  • 2010 – Rafael Nadal
  • 2009 – Rafael Nadal
  • 2008 – Novak Djokovic
  • 2007 – Rafael Nadal
  • 2006 – Rafael Nadal
  • 2005 – Rafael Nadal

In the women’s singles : 

  • 2019 – Karolína Plíšková
  • 2018 – Elina Svitolina
  • 2017 – Elina Svitolina
  • 2016 – Serena Williams
  • 2015 – Maria Sharapova
  • 2014 – Serena Williams
  • 2013 – Serena Williams
  • 2012 – Maria Sharapova
  • 2011 – Maria Sharapova
  • 2010 – Maria Jose Martinez Sanchez
  • 2009 – Dinara Safina
  • 2008 – Jelena Jankovic
  • 2007 – Jelena Jankovic
  • 2006 – Martina Hingis
  • 2005 – Amélie Mauresmo

How to get tickets for the Italian Open? 

Tickets for the Rome Masters 1000 and WTA Premier are available on the tournament website. It offers primary tickets. Some official tickets resellers can also provide you tickets.

What is the tournament’s schedule? 

The tournament takes place over eight days, excluding qualifying. The Masters 1000 tournament starts on the first Sunday, and the WTA Premier tournament starts on Monday. Semi-finals of the singles tournaments take place on Saturday, and the finals on Sunday. Quarter-finals are usually played on Friday, and the Round of 16 on Thursday.  

What are the draws of the Italian Open  

Both men’s and women’s singles draws feature 56 players. In both draws, the first 8 seeds are exempt from the first round. The draw ceremony usually takes place on the Friday before the tournament starts.

When are the qualifying rounds? 

Italian Open qualifiers usually take place on the weekend before the tournament begins. For both men and women, qualifiers have 8 spots in the main draw.

What is the prize money of the Italian Open? 

The total prize money of the Rome ATP Masters 1000 is €5,791,280.

Rome WTA Premier total prize money is €3,452,538.

How many ATP and WTA points do the winners of the Italian Open earn?

Rome Masters 1000 awards ATP Points as follow: 1000 points for the winner, 600 for the runner-up, 360 for the semi-finalists, 180 for the quarter-finalists, 90 for the players ejected in the Round of 16, 45 for the players eliminated in the second round, 10 for the players defeated in the first round.  

For the women, WTA Premier tournament in Rome awards WTA points as follows: 900 points for the winner, 585 for the runner-up, 350 for the semi-finalists, 190 for the quarter-finalists, 105 when ejected in the round of 16, 60 for the players eliminated in the second round, 1 for the players defeated in the first round.  

Karolína Plíšková poses with the trophy in Rome in 2019.

How to watch the Italian Open on TV? 

Tennis Channel is the official broadcaster of the Rome Masters 1000 in the United States. In France, you can watch the men’s tournament on Eurosport. ESPN International is the official broadcaster in South America. Amazon Prime holds broadcasting rights in the United Kingdom.

To watch the Rome WTA Premier, turn on Tennis Channel in the United States, and BeIN SPORTS in France. 

  • share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More News

Exclusive contents (video, behind-the-scene stories...), meetings with champions, tech advices, fresh news & datas... Subscribe to,the ultimate platform for tennis lovers