10 questions about 2021 Wimbledon – Schedule, prize money, history


Everything you could possibly need to know about Wimbledon - scheduled to take place in June 2021.

You can follow Wimbledon on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Where does Wimbledon take place?

Wimbledon takes place in south-west London at the All England Lawn Tennis Club. The venue is in the middle of a pleasant residential area, so there is not a great deal of parking – spectators are advised to get the London Underground, train, or a tram to Wimbledon station, and then take a bus or walk.

The venue has 18 championship courts, including the show courts – Centre Court, No 1 Court and No 2 Court.

When will Wimbledon be held in 2021?

Wimbledon will run from June 28 to July 11, 2021.

Djokovic and Federer pose with their trophies in Wimbledon in 2019

What is the tournament schedule?

This has not yet been confirmed, but qualifying is likely to take place the week before, at Roehampton, not too far from the Wimbledon complex.

How do I get tickets for Wimbledon?

The famous ballot is the most common way to get tickets for Wimbledon, but it will not be happening in 2021. Everyone who got tickets in 2020 and thus couldn’t attend will be able to transfer their tickets over to 2021 instead, meaning there will be almost none available for purchase in advance.

Some show-court tickets are sold online the night before each day’s play but the most popular way to attend will probably be via queuing up in person for a ground pass.

Why did it not happen in 2020?

The organisers decided not to run the tournament due to the coronavirus pandemic, the first time Wimbledon has not taken place since the Second World War.

It is possible that the tournament will happen behind closed doors in 2021 if spectators are still not allowed in to sporting events in the United Kingdom.

Who are the defending champions?

Novak Djokovic and Simona Halep are the 2019 champions in singles.

Simona Halep with her 2019 Wimbledon trophy in Bucharest

Here are all the champions from 2019:

  • Novak Djokovic (men’s singles)
  • Simona Halep (women’s singles)
  • Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah (men’s doubles)
  • Hsieh Su-wei and Barbora Strycova (women’s doubles)
  • Latisha Chan and Ivan Dodig (mixed doubles)
  • Shintaro Mochizuki (boys’ singles)
  • Daria Snigur (girls’ singles)
  • Jonas Forejtek and Kiri Lehecka (boys’ doubles)
  • Savannah Broadus and Abigail Forbes (girls’ doubles)
  • Gustavo Fernandez (wheelchair men’s singles)
  • Aniek van Koot (wheelchair women’s singles)
  • Dylan Alcott (wheelchair quad singles)
  • Joachim Gerard and Stefan Olsson (wheelchair men’s doubles)
  • Diede de Groot and Aniek van Koot (wheelchair women’s doubles)
  • Dylan Alcott and Andrew Lapthorne (wheelchair quad doubles)

Who has won at Wimbledon in the past?

Martina Navratilova has won the most singles titles; picking up the title nine times, including six in a row between 1982 and 1987. Roger Federer has a record that is almost as impressive, with eight men’s singles titles, five of them consecutively between 2003 and 2007. Bjorn Borg also won five in a row, between 1976 and 1980.

The last British men’s singles champion at Wimbledon was Andy Murray, who won the title in 2013, beating Novak Djokovic and most recently in 2016, beating Milos Raonic. The last British women’s singles champion was Virginia Wade, who beat Betty Stove in the 1977 final.

How much prize money is there to be won?

In 2019, the singles champions each received £2.35 million – up from £2.25 million in 2018.

Despite the cancellation of the 2020 tournament, the organisers still made prize money payouts to players based on their world rankings, with those who would have competed in the main draw singles events each receiving £25,000. Those who would have played in qualifying, doubles or the wheelchair events received slightly less.

Which TV channels show Wimbledon?

The BBC broadcast Wimbledon in the UK, with ESPN and the Tennis Channel offering coverage in the USA. Eurosport has coverage across most of Europe, and beIN Sports in Asia and parts of Europe. Australian viewers can watch on Channel Seven.

Who is the Wimbledon tournament director?

Sally Bolton is the newly appointed chief executive officer of the All England Lawn Tennis Club, the club that hosts the Championships.

  • share
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More News

Exclusive contents (video, behind-the-scene stories...), meetings with champions, tech advices, fresh news & datas... Subscribe to tennismajors.com,the ultimate platform for tennis lovers