Subscribe to our newsletter

ATP Finals draw: Defending champ Tsitsipas to face Nadal

Group London 2020 looks fascinating, with last year’s winner drawn against the Roland-Garros champion.

Stefanos Tsitsipas is presented with the single ATP Finals trophy

The draw for the singles competition at the Nitto ATP Finals has been made – and there are some intriguing matches during the round-robin stage.

In Group Tokyo 1970, world No 1 Novak Djokovic will face Daniil Medvedev, Alexander Zverev and Diego Schwartzman.

In Group London 2020, last year’s champion Stefanos Tsitsipas will take on Rafael Nadal and Andrey Rublev, and will open his campaign on Day 1 against Dominic Thiem.

On standby should they be required are two alternates, Matteo Berrettini and Denis Shapovalov.

The draw for the doubles competition has not yet been completed as one more pair has still to confirm their place at the showpiece occasion. However, Mate Pavic/Bruno Soares, Rajeev Ram/Joe Salisbury, Kevin Krawietz/Andreas Mies, Marcel Granollers/Horacio Zeballos, Wesley Koolhof/Nikola Mektic, John Peers/Michael Venus and Lukasz Kubot/Marcelo Melo will all be competing at London’s O2 Arena.

Play starts on Sunday, November 15.

ATP Finals format

The eight finalists are split into two groups of four – in singles, Group Tokyo 1970 and Group London 2020, and in doubles, Group Bob Bryan and Group Mike Bryan.

Everyone plays everyone else in their group once. The top player in Group Tokyo 1970 will play the runner-up from Group London 2020 in the semi-final, and vice versa.

The standings in the table are decided first by greatest number of wins, then by greatest number of matches played (a 2-1 win-loss record beats a 2-0 win-loss record), then by head-to-head results if two players are tied.

ATP Finals schedule

The round-robin stage runs from Sunday, November 15 to Friday, November 20.

Day 1’s order of play is as follows:

  • 12 noon – Doubles tbd
  • Not before 2pm – Thiem v Tsitsipas
  • 6pm – Doubles tbd
  • Not before 8pm – Nadal v Rublev

The semi-finals are on Sunday, November 21, with the singles and doubles finals both on Sunday, November 22.

The afternoon sessions begin at 12 noon GMT with a doubles match, and the singles begin not before 2pm. The evening sessions start with a doubles match not before 6pm (5.45pm on Friday), followed by a singles match not before 8pm.

Your comments

Your email address will not be published.