Tennis news
into your inbox

Thousands have already subscribed


Fritz, Kyrgios express disappointment after being overlooked for ATP Awards

The nominations for the ATP’s annual year-end awards and, as usual, some players aren’t too happy about it

Taylor Fritz at the 2022 Japan Open Taylor Fritz at the 2022 Japan Open

American Taylor Fritz and Australian Nick Kyrgios took to social media to express their disappointment at not being nominated for the year-ending ATP Tour Awards.

The ATP Tour announced the nominations for its annual year-ending awards on Thursday and as usual, there were some players not happy at making the final shortlist.

Fritz jumped from No 23 in January to break into the top 10, won the Indian Wells Masters Series and qualified for the season-ending ATP Finals. But all that was not enough to earn him a nod for the ATP Most Improved Player of the Year Award. Instead, Carlos Alcaraz, Maxime Cressy, Jack Draper, and Holger Rune will battle it out for the award.

Kyrgios, who compiled the best season of his career with a 37-10 record that included his first Grand Slam singles final at Wimbledon besides making the cut for the ATP Finals in doubles following his Australian Open triumph with Thanasi Kokkinakis, felt that he should have been nominated for ATP Coach of the Year for coaching himself to his first Grand Slam singles final.

The Coach of the Year nominees went out to Juan Carlos Ferrero (coach of Carlos Alcaraz), Federic Fontang (Felix Auger-Aliassime), Goran Ivanisevic (coach of Novak Djokovic), Mike Russell (coach of Taylor Fritz) and Christian Ruud (coach of Casper Ruud).

The nominations in the other categories include:

Comeback Player of the Year

  • Borna Coric
  • Dominic Thiem
  • Stan Wawrinka
  • Wu Yibing

Newcomer of the Year

  • Jack Draper
  • Jiri Lehecka
  • Ben Shelton
  • Chun-hsin Tseng
  • Holger Rune

Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award of the Year:

  • Carlos Alcaraz
  • Felix Auger-Aliassime
  • Rafael Nadal
  • Casper Ruud
  • Frances Tiafoe

People in this post

Your comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *