Tennis news
into your inbox

Thousands have already subscribed


Alcaraz, Nadal and Ruud lead nominations for ATP Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award

Nadal has won the award for the last four years in a row

Carlos Alcaraz and Rafael Nadal at the 2022 Mutua Madrid Open Carlos Alcaraz and Rafael Nadal at the 2022 Mutua Madrid Open Image Credit: Antoine Couvercelle / Panoramic

The world’s top three players, No 1 Carlos Alcaraz, No 2 Rafael Nadal, and No 3 Casper Ruud lead the nominees for the 2022 ATP Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award.

A total of 11 players have been nominated for the award this year. Joining the top three are No 6 Felix Auger-Aliassime, No 10 Hubert Hurkacz, No 14 Cameron Norrie, No 16 Matteo Berrettini, No 19 Frances Tiafoe, No 23 Lorenzo Musetti, No 28 Grigor Dimitrov, and No 32 Maxime Cressy.

The winner is voted for by the ATP players themselves. The award goes the player who, through the year, conducts himself at the highest level of professionalism and integrity, who competes with his fellow players with the utmost spirit of fairness and who promoted the game through his off-court activities.

Nadal has won the award five times in his career, including the last four years in a row. No other player besides Nadal and Federer have won the award since Paradorn Srichapan in 2003.

Evert and Navratilova pick Auger-Aliassime to win Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award

While only ATP players get to vote for this award, some of the retired WTA players gave their verdict on who would their pick be.

Both Chris Evert and Martina Navratilova picked Canadian Auger-Aliassime while Rennae Stubbs chose Poland’s Hurkacz.

Your comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *