New format, more teams: 10 questions about the 2022 Davis Cup

Here are some questions you might have about the famous old competition

Russians win Davis Cup Tennis – Davis Cup Finals – Madrid Arena, Madrid, Spain – December 5, 2021 Russian Tennis Federation team celebrates with trophy on the podium winning the Davis Cup || 214712_0118

You can follow all the information about the Davis Cup on the official website and the Twitter account.

What’s the latest format for the 2022 Davis Cup?

The group stage of the Davis Cup will be hosted across four cities – with each staging one group of four teams. The top two teams from each group will progress to the finals.

The finals – the three rounds from the quarter-finals onwards – will be in one venue from November 23-27, 2022.

Where will the Davis Cup take place in 2022?

The host city for the finals has not yet been announced.

The bidding process to host one of the groups is under way and is expected to be announced in March.

Who will be in the group stage?

2021 champions Russia and runners-up Croatia will be in the group stage, along with wildcards Serbia and Great Britain. The other 12 places are up for grabs in the upcoming qualification stage, which takes place next month.

Who won the Davis Cup in 2021?

The 2021 Davis Cup was won by the Russian Tennis Federation. Daniil Medvedev and Andrey Rublev won their singles matches to secure a 2-0 win over Croatia in the final, securing the Russians their third Davis Cup title.

Russia had beaten Germany 2-1 and Croatia had beaten Serbia by the same scoreline in the semi-finals.

What exactly is the Davis Cup?

The Davis Cup is the oldest and most prestigious team competition in men’s tennis, played annually, towards the end of the year. The first official Davis Cup match was held in 1900, between the United States and Great Britain at the Longwood Cricket Club in Boston, Massachusetts, resulting in a win for the hosts. Initially called the International Lawn Tennis Challenge, it was later named after Dwight Davis, the American player who came up with the idea.

In 1905, Belgium, Austria, France, and Australasia – a team combining players from Australia and New Zealand – joined the line-up. More countries were added in the following years, although up until 1974 only the USA, Great Britain, France and Australasia/Australia had actually won the title.

Has the Davis Cup always had the same format?

In recent years, the Davis Cup has undergone some big changes. In 2019, the Davis Cup changed to an 18-team event, held in one week at the end of the season, under the auspices of Kosmos Tennis – a venture backed by Spanish footballer Gerard Piqué. In 2021 it was expanded to 11 days.

Up until 2019, matches were played over the best of five sets. The introduction of best-of-three was intended to encourage more top players to commit to the event.

Before that, the Davis Cup was initially played as a Challenge Cup, with teams competing with each other to be able to challenge the holder. In 1972, it became a knockout event, with the defending champion also competing throughout. In 1981, a system of tiered groups were created, below the World Group, where the elite nations competed for the trophy.

What was the format for the 2021 Davis Cup Finals?

The 2021 Davis Cup Finals, consisting of the top 18 nations, were held in three cities; in Madrid, Turin and Innsbruck from November 25 to December 5. The 18 teams were divided into six round-robin groups of three, structured as follows:

Group A (Madrid): Spain, Russia, Ecuador,
Group B (Madrid): Canada, Kazakhstan, Sweden
Group C (Innsbruck): France, Great Britain, Czech Republic
Group D (Turin): Croatia, Australia, Hungary
Group E (Turin): United States, Italy, Colombia
Group F (Innsbruck): Serbia, Germany, Austria

The winners of each group and the two best runners-up qualified for the quarter-finals, which were played in the three cities (two in Madrid, one in Innsbruck and Turin). The semi-finals – Russia against Germany and Croatia against Serbia – and the final took place in Madrid.

Which is the most successful nation in Davis Cup history?

The United States, with 32 wins, is the most successful team in Davis Cup history. After winning the first event in 1900, it won seven years in a row in the 1920s – but their last win was 15 years ago, in 2007. Australia dominated the Davis Cup in the 1950s and 1960s, with 15 wins in 18 years, meaning they sit second on the roll of honour with 28 Davis Cup titles in total, while France and Britain share third spot on 10.

Which player has the most Davis Cup wins?

Italy’s Nicola Pietrangeli has the most Davis Cup wins, with 120 victories in singles and doubles combined. He also holds the record for the most singles wins, at 78.

What is the longest match in Davis Cup history?

Unsurprisingly, the longest-ever match came in the best-of-five era, and it lasted an epic six hours, 43 minutes as Leonardo Mayer of Argentina beat Joao Souza of Brazil in a World Group first-round match in 2015 – 7-6, 7-6, 5-7, 5-7, 15-13. It was 21 minutes longer than the previous record of six hours, 22 minutes between John McEnroe and Mats Wilander when the United States beat Sweden 3-2 in the quarter-finals in 1982.

People in this post

Your comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *