Federer, Vancouver, Team Europe, Team World: Everything you always wanted to know about the 2023 Laver Cup (updated after 2023 Laver Cup)

Vancouver will host the sixth edition of the Laver Cup this year. Here’s all you need to know about the 2023 edition of the tournament

Team World with the 2022 Laver Cup trophy Team World with the 2022 Laver Cup trophy

What is the Laver Cup?

The Laver Cup is an international men’s tennis team event held between Team Europe (consisting of players from Europe) and Team World, consisting of players from all regions except Europe. The event is held alternately in Europe and in another city in the rest of the world.

The tournament was inspired by golf’s Ryder Cup and is named after the Australian tennis legend, Rod Laver.

Who won the 2023 Laver Cup?

Team World scored a dominating 13-2 victory to repeat as Laver Cup champions.

Ben Shelton and Frances Tiafoe, who each went 3-0 over the weekend, clinched the victory with a 7-6(4), 7-6(5) victory.

Will the remaining matches on day three of the Laver Cup be played if Team World win?

Entering day three with a 10-2 lead over Team Europe, Team World only need one victory to cross the 12 point mark, and claim the 2023 Laver Cup.

Should they win one of the first three matches and move to 13 points, then the rest of the scheduled matches for day three of the Laver Cup will not be contested. However, after the trophy ceremony, an exhibition match will be played.

What is the order of play on day three of the 2023 Laver Cup?

The tournament has released its order of play for Sunday, September 24, 2023, with the following matches scheduled for day three of the 2023 Laver Cup:

Day session (12pm onwards)

  • Match 9 – Hubert Hurkacz/Andrey Rublev v Ben Shelton/Frances Tiafoe
  • Match 10 – Casper Ruud v Taylor Fritz
  • Match 11 – Andrey Rublev v Frances Tiafoe
  • Match 12 – Hubert Hurkacz v Felix-Auger Aliassime

Day three of the 2023 Laver Cup will see as many as three singles and one doubles match played. However, given that Team World only need one win to claim the 2023 Laver Cup, this schedule could change depending on results.

Was Roger Federer at the Laver Cup?

Roger Federer was at the 2023 Laver Cup. He retired at the 2022 edition, and will mark the one-year anniversary since his step back from competitive tennis by appearing on the first day to make the draw for the last match.

He gave a 30-minute on-court interview with Jim Courier after Friday night’s final match.

Many believe Federer will someday become a captain for Team Europe, but no plans have officially been made.

Who played at the 2023 Laver Cup?

The teams are set for the weekend of September 22-24.

Defending champion Team World consisted of:

  • Taylor Fritz
  • Tommy Paul
  • Ben Shelton
  • Felix Auger-Aliassime
  • Frances Tiafoe
  • Francisco Cerundolo

Team Europe:

Where was the 2023 Laver Cup held?

The 2023 edition of the Laver Cup was held in Vancouver, Canada at the Rogers Arena. The previous editions have been held in the below cities:

  • 2017 (inaugural edition) – Prague, Czech Republic
  • 2018 – Chicago, United States
  • 2019 – Geneva, Switzerland
  • 2020 – not held due to coronavirus pandemic
  • 2021 – Boston, United States
  • 2022 – London, United Kingdom

What is the format of the Laver Cup?

The tournament is played over three days with the first two days consisting of a day and a night session, and a day session on the third day. Four matches – three singles and a doubles match– are played each day. All matches are played in a best-of-three sets format with ad scoring. If the first two sets are tied, then the third is decided by a 10-point match tiebreaker.

Each win earns the team one point on Friday, two points on Saturday, and three points on Sunday. The first team to win 13 points (out of a total 24 points available) wins the trophy. If the points are tied at 12-12 at the end of all matches, a fifth match (the “Decider”) is played on the final day to determine the winner of the tournament.

Who came up with the idea of the Laver Cup?

The tournament is the brainchild of Roger Federer and his agent, Tony Godsick. The tournament is an ATP-sanctioned event.

The tournament is named after Rod Laver, one of the greatest players in the history of the sport. Laver. who hailed from Australia, is the only player in the history of the sport to win the calendar Grand Slam (all four majors in a single season) twice – in 1962 as an amateur and in 1969 – as a pro.

Who picks the teams?

Three of the six players on each team qualify based on their ATP singles rankings as of the Monday after Roland-Garros in June. The captains select the other three members of their team – the “captain’s picks”.

Who are part of Team World in the 2023 Laver Cup?

Felix Auger-Aliassime, from Canada, and Taylor Fritz and Frances Tiafoe, both from the United States of America, were the first picks for Team World.

They will be joined by Tommy Paul and Ben Shelton of the USA, and Argentina’s Francisco Cerundolo.

Who are the defending Laver Cup champions?

Team World are two-time reigning champions. In 2022, they won the Laver Cup for the first time in five tries.

So far the scores have been:

  • 2017 – Team Europe defeated Team World 15–9
  • 2018 – Team Europe defeated Team World 13–8
  • 2019 – Team Europe defeated Team World 13−11
  • 2020 – Not played due to Coronavirus
  • 2021 – Team Europe defeated Team World 14-1
  • 2022 – Team World defeated Team Europe 13-8
  • 2023 – Team World defeated Team Europe 13-2

Where will the 2024 Laver Cup be held?

The next edition of Laver Cup will be held in Berlin, Germany.

People in this post

Your comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *