Tennis news
into your inbox

Thousand have already subscribed


10 legendary drubbings that happened at Roland-Garros

In this video, we reviewed 10 of the toughest losses in the French Open history, from Roger Federer to Thierry Champion.

May 28, 2020
Veuillez accepter les cookies pour voir la vidéo

In 1968, the first 6-0, 6-0, 6-0 in history

Frenchman Daniel Contet became the first player to suffer a 6-0 6-0 6-0 loss in Open Era Grand Slam history against Yugoslavian Nikola Spaer. It was in the 1st round in 1968.

A 1h08 final in 1970

1 hour and 8 minutes: this is the duration of the final between Jan Kodes and Zeljko Franulovic, in 1970. It’s the shortest final in Roland-Garros history, won by Kodes, 6-2 6-4 6-0. 

Brian Gottfried won only 3 games in the 1977 final 

In 1977 Brian Gottfried qualified for the only Grand Slam final of his career. But the American only managed three games against Guillermo Vilas (6-0 6-3 6-0). He remains the player to have won the fewest games in a final at Roland-Garros.

Guillermo Villas at the French Open

1987: Bengoechea joins Daniel Contet 

In 1987, Argentinian Eduardo Bengoechea became the second player to be eliminated from a Grand Slam without winning a single game. His executioner in the 2nd round? Czechoslovakian Karel Novacek.

1987: Former champion defeated 6-0 6-0

Yugoslavian Mima Jausovec, victorious in Paris in 1977, is the only former Roland-Garros winner to have suffered a double bagel in the tournament. It came against Czechoslovakian Hana Mandlikova in the 1st round in 1987. The last match of Jausovec’s Roland-Garros career.

1988: Zvereva trashed in a 34-minutes final

In 1988, Natasha Zvereva won just 13 points and was dispatched in a lopsided final by the great Steffi Graf, 6-0 6-0 in 34 minutes.

Steffi Graf at 1996 Roland Garros

1991: Graf trashed 6-0 6-2

In 1991, Graf suffered the most severe defeat of her Grand Slam career (6-0 6-2) against Arantxa Sanchez in the semifinals. The German had beaten Sanchez 10 times in their first 11 meetings.

1993: Thierry Champion humiliated in 60 minutes

In 1993, 60 minutes were enough for Sergi Bruguera, future winner, to dispatch Thierry Champion in the 2nd round of Roland-Garros without winning a single game. To date, Champion is the last player to have suffered such a Grand Slam humiliation.

Federer won only 4 games vs Nadal at 2008 Roland Garros

2008: When Nadal manhandled Federer

In 2008, Rafael Nadal handed Roger Federer his worst ever Grand Slam defeat. The shellshocked Swiss won only four games against the Spaniard in the Roland-Garros final (6-1 6-3 6-0).

2018: defending champion trashed in the first round

In 2018, Jelena Ostapenko tumbled in the first round in two sets against the Ukrainian Kateryna Kozlova, 67th in the world (7-5 6-3). The Latvian thus equalled the worst performance of a defending champion at Roland-Garros.

It seems that failures build character. At least those who experienced these Roland Garros lashings would not have lost everything.

Your comments

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.