Tennis news
into your inbox

Thousand have already subscribed


Players, Groups, Dates, Tickets: Everything you always wanted to know about the 2022 ATP Finals (but never had time to find out) – updated with day 1 schedule

Everything you need to know about the season-ending ATP Finals, from the player field to former champions and ticket prices

General view of the ATP World Tour Finals trophy after the final

You can follow updates on the ATP Finals on Instagram and Facebook as well as the Twitter account of the ATP Tour

Who has qualified for the 2022 ATP Finals?

The eight-man field for the ATP Finals is set. Australian Open and French Open winner Rafael Nadal, French Open and US Open runner-up Casper Ruud, Stefanos Tsitsipas, Daniil Medvedev, Novak Djokovic, Felix Auger-Aliassime, Andrey Rublev and Taylor Fritz complete the field.

Six-time ATP Finals champion Novak Djokovic was already assured of a place having won Wimbledon in July and clinched a place in the world’s top 20, a sub-rule of the competition. As it turned out, though, Djokovic is in the top eight so would have qualified anyway.

Holger Rune and Hubert Hurkacz will be the first and second alternate respectively.

You can follow all the results here

What is the day one schedule for the ATP Finals?

The day one schedule for the ATP Finals is as follows (all times local):

Afternoon session (starts at 11.30am)
Marcelo Arevalo/Jean-Julien Rojer v Lloyd Glasspool/Harri Heliovaara

Not Before 2:00 pm
Casper Ruud v Felix Auger-Aliassime

Evening Session (Not Before 6.30pm)
Rajeev Ram/Joe Salisbury v Marcel Granollers/Horacio Zeballos

Not Before 9:00 pm
Rafael Nadal v Taylor Fritz

Why is Carlos Alcaraz not in the field?

Carlos Alcaraz would have qualified automatically as the world No 1 and the leader in the ATP Race. However, the 19-year-odl Spaniard announced on November 5 that he will be out of action for up to six weeks after suffering an abdominal injury in the Paris Masters.

Which doubles teams have qualified for the 2022 ATP Finals?

In doubles, Wesley Koolhof/Neal Skupski, Rajeev Ram/Joe Salisbury, Marcelo Arevalo/Jean-Julien Roger, Nikola Mektic/Mate Pavic, Ivan Dodig/ Austin Krajieck, Lloyd Glasspool/Harri Heliovaara, Marcel Granollers/ Horacio Zeballos, and Nick Kyrgios/Thanasi Kokkinakis and have punched their tickets to Turin.

Are Nadal and Djokovic in the same group at the ATP Finals?

Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic have been drawn in different groups at the ATP Finals, which means that the earliest they could meet is the semi-finals. Here are the groups in the singles and doubles draws.

Singles Green Group

  • Rafael Nadal (1)
  • Casper Ruud (3)
  • Felix Auger-Aliassime (5)
  • Taylor Fritz (8)

Singles Red Group

  • Stefanos Tsitsipas (2)
  • Daniil Medvedev (4)
  • Andrey Rublev (6)
  • Novak Djokovic (7)

Doubles Green Group

  • Wesley Koolhof and Neal Skupski (1)
  • Nikola Mektic and Mate Pavic (4)
  • Ivan Dodig and Austin Krajicek (5)
  • Thanasi Kokkinakis and Nick Kyrgios (8)

Doubles Red Group

  • Rajeev Ram and Joe Salisbury (2)
  • Marcelo Arevalo and Jean-Julien Rojer (3)
  • Lloyd Glasspool and Harri Heliovaara (6)
  • Marcel Granollers and Horacio Zeballos (7)

When will the 2022 ATP Finals take place?

This year’s ATP Finals are scheduled to take place from November 13 to November 20, 2022.

Where will the 2022 ATP Finals be held?

This year, the tournament will be held at the Pala Alpitour in Turin, Italy for the second year in a row. Turin is the host after the tournament’s 12-year stint at the O2 Arena in London. Turin will host the event till 2025 and is the 15th city to host the ATP season finale, which celebrated its 50-year anniversary in 2020.

On which surface is the tournament held?

The tournament is played on indoor hard court.

What is the format of the ATP Finals?

The ATP Finals is the season-ending finale for the ATP Tour which brings together the top eight qualified singles players and doubles teams. Players earn points throughout the season to qualify for the event.

The tournament has two groups of four players/ teams each and uses a round-robin format. The top two from each group advance to the knockout semi-finals, with the semi-final winners clashing for the title.

Who is the defending champion?

Germany’s Alexander Zverev won the title last year, beating Russia’s Daniil Medvedev 6-4, 6-4 to win the tournament for the second time. Zverev is injured, however, and did not qualify for the eight-man field.

Nicolas Mahut, Pierre-Hugues Herbert, ATP Finals 2021, Turin
Nicolas Mahut, Pierre-Hugues Herbert, ATP Finals 2021, Turin – © AI / Reuters / Panoramic

Pierre-Hugues Herbert/Nicolas Mahut won the doubles title beating Rajeev Ram/Joe Salisbury, 6–4, 7–6 (7-0) in the final to also life the title for the second time.

How can I buy tickets for the 2022 ATP Finals?

Tickets for the ATP Finals can be purchased on the Official Ticket Office. You can visit this link on the tournament website for more information.

How much prize money can players win at the ATP Finals?

The 2022 ATP Finals will offer record total prize money of $14.75 million, more than any other non-Grand Slam event in tennis history. If anyone wins the title undefeated, then they will take home $4,740,300, more than any other winner in tennis history, at any event.

How many ranking points are on offer at the ATP Finals?

If a player wins the tournament without losing, they will receive 1,500 ranking points. More information is expected soon about the points allocation for the entire tournament. Last year, each round-robin match win was worth 200 points, with 400 points on offer for a semi-final win.

Who are the former champions?

Some of the biggest names in men’s tennis have won the ATP Finals. Here are all the former year-end champions, together with the year in which they achieved it:

  • Stan Smith (1970)
  • Ilie Nastase (1971, 1972, 1973, 1975)
  • Guillermo Vilas (1974)
  • Manuel Orantes (1976)
  • Jimmy Connors (1977)
  • John McEnroe (1978, 1983, 1984)
  • Bjorn Borg (1979, 1980)
  • Ivan Lendl (1981, 1982, 1985, 1986, 1987)
  • Boris Becker (1988, 1992, 1995)
  • Stefan Edberg (1989)
  • Andre Agassi (1990)
  • Pete Sampras (1991, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999)
  • Michael Stich (1993)
  • Alex Corretja (1998)
  • Gustavo Kuerten (2000)
  • Lleyton Hewitt (2001, 2002)
  • Roger Federer (2003, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2011)
  • David Nalbandian (2005)
  • Novak Djokovic (2007, 2008, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015)
  • Nikolay Davydenko (2009)
  • Andy Murray (2016)
  • Grigor Dimitrov (2017)
  • Alexander Zverev (2018, 2022)
  • Stefanos Tsitsipas (2019)
  • Daniil Medvedev (2020)
  • Alexander Zverev (2021)

Here are all the former year-end doubles champions, together with the year in which they achieved it:

  • Ashe/ Smith (1970)
  • 1971 to 1974 – Not held
  • Gisbert/ Orantes (1975)
  • McNair/ Stewart (1976)
  • Hewitt/ McMillan (1977)
  • Fleming/ J. McEnroe (1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984)
  • Edberg/ Jarryd (1985, 1986)
  • Mecir/ Smid (1987)
  • Leach/ Pugh (1988)
  • Grabb/ P. McEnroe (1989)
  • Forget/ Hlasek (1990)
  • Fitzgerald/ Jarryd (1991)
  • Woodbridge/ Woodforde (1992, 1996)
  • Eltingh/ Haarhuis (1993, 1998)
  • Apell/ Bjorkman (1994)
  • Connell/ Galbraith (1995)
  • Leach/ Stark (1997)
  • Lareau/ O’Brien (1999)
  • Johnson/ Norval (2000)
  • Ferreira/ Leach (2001)
  • 2002 – Not held
  • B. Bryan/ M. Bryan (2003, 2004, 2009, 2014)
  • Llodra/ Santoro (2005)
  • Bjorkman/ Mirnyi (2006)
  • Knowles/ Nestor (2007)
  • Nestor/ Zimonjic (2008, 2010)
  • Nestor/ Minryi (2011)
  • Granollers/ Lopez (2012)
  • Marrero/ Verdasco (2013)
  • Rojer/ Tecau (2015)
  • Kontinen/ Peers (2016, 2017)
  • M/ Bryan/ Sock (2018)
  • Herbert/ Mahut (2019, 2022)
  • Koolhof/ Mektic (2020)
  • Mahut/Herbert (2021)
Your comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *