Schedule, tickets, prize money: 10 questions about 2021 Canadian Open

Everything you could possibly need to know about the Canadian Open – scheduled to take place in August 2021

19 July 2021
Rafael Nadal and Bianca Andreescu with their trophies after winning the Rogers Cup in 2019

You can follow the men’s event at the Canadian Open on these links on TwitterInstagram and Facebook.

You can follow the women’s event at the Canadian Open on these links on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

When will the Canadian Open take place?

The Canadian Open, which is also called the National Bank Open, will run from August 7 to August 15, 2021.

Where will the Canadian Open be held?

Toronto and Montreal alternate as host cities for the men’s and women’s Canadian Open every year. In 2021, the men’s ATP event at the National Bank Open will take place in Toronto while the women’s WTA event – the Omnium Banque Nationale – will be held in Montreal.

On which surface is the Canadian Open played?

The tournament is played on hardcourts.

Did the Rogers Cup take place in 2020?

The Rogers Cup did not take place in 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic and the related measures imposed by various government officials. As a result, the tournament was postponed until 2021.

As per the schedule for last year’s tournament, the women’s event will be held in Montreal in 2021 and the men’s event will be held in Toronto.

Will the National Bank Open have fans this year?

The tournament is expecting to host fans in Toronto and Montreal, although details still need to be confirmed.

How do I get tickets for the National Bank Open?

The details of tickets for the men’s event in Toronto can be found at this link. Meanwhile, ticketing information for the women’s event in Montreal can be found at this link.

Do players have to be in a “bubble” while competing at the National Bank Open in 2021?

To minimise the risk of catching and spreading the coronavirus, players and their support teams must remain in the tournament bubble.

Who are the defending champions of the Rogers Cup?

Rafael Nadal and local favourite Bianca Andreescu won the men’s singles and women’s singles event at the Rogers Cup in 2019.

The men’s doubles event was won by at the Rogers Cup in 2019 was won by Marcel Granollers / Horacio Zeballos, while Barbora Krejcikova /Katerina Siniakova won the women’s doubles event.

Who has won the Canadian Open in the past?

In the Open Era, Ivan Lendl is the most successful male player, with six titles to his name. Nadal, a five-time champion, could equal that record by winning the 2021 title. Other multiple champions include Novak Djokovic (4), Andy Murray (3), Andre Agassi (3), Roger Federer (2), John McEnroe (2), and Guillermo Vilas (2).

On the women’s side, Chris Evert and Monica Seles have both won the event four times each. Other champions include Serena Williams (3), Martina Navratilova (3), Simona Halep (2), Justine Henin (2), Amelie Mauresmo (2), Martina Hingis (2), Arantxa Sanchez (2), Steffi Graf (2), Regina Marsíkova (2), and Evonne Goolagong Cawley (2)

What is the draw size at the 2021 Canadian Open?

The men’s event will have a draw of 48 players in singles and 28 teams in doubles. Meanwhile, the women’s event has a draw of 56 players in singles and 28 teams in doubles.

What health measures are being taken by the tournament this year?

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic and in order to protect the health and safety of fans, players, staff and the general public, Tennis Canada has put in place a number of measures for those visiting the tournament in 2021. You can view those measures on the tournament website at this link.

How many ranking points can players earn at the Canadian Open?

For men, as for the other Masters 1000 events, ATP points are awarded as follows:

  • Title: 1000 points
  • Final: 600 points
  • Semi-final: 360 points
  • Quarter-final: 180 points
  • Round of 16: 90 points
  • 2nd round: 45 points
  • 1st round: 25 points

For the women, WTA points are awarded as follows:

  • Title: 900 points
  • Final: 585 points
  • Semi-final: 350 points
  • Quarter-final: 190 points
  • Round of 16: 105 points
  • 2nd round: 60 points
  • 1st round: 1 points
Matteo Berrettini 2021 Wimbledon final
Tennis – Wimbledon – All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club, London, Britain – July 11, 2021 Serbia’s Novak Djokovic celebrates with the trophy alongside Italy’s Matteo Berrettini after winning the men’s final

Which players will be playing the National Bank Open in 2021?

As per the tournament website, all of the top 37 players on the men’s side have entered to play in the Canadian Open. You can read the entry list via this link.

On the women’s side, nine of the top 10 and 18 of the top 20 have entered the field. Only Simona Halep (ranked No. 19) and Serena Williams (No. 16) have pulled out of the event due to injuries.

Which TV channels will broadcast the Canadian Open?

As per the ATP tour website, all ATP Masters 1000 series events will be broadcast on Canal+, Eurosport in France, Amazon Prime Video in the United Kingdom, and the Tennis Channel in the United States. For broadcast partners in other countries, you can click on this link at the ATP tour website.

As per the WTA tour website, WTA events are broadcast on beIN Sports in France, Amazon Prime Video in the United Kingdom, and the Tennis Channel in the United States. For broadcast partners in other countries, you can click on this link at the WTA Tour website.

Your comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *