Dates, tickets, Nadal: Everything you always wanted to know about the 2024 Australian Open (but never had time to find out) – updated after tournament

The Australian Open kicks off the annual Grand Slam calendar in tennis. Here is everything you need to know about the 2024 edition of the tournament as things stand right now

Australian Open 2024 (Zuma/Panoramic)

who won the 2024 australian open?

Aryna Sabalenka won the 2024 Australian Open women’s singles title, beating Qinwen Zheng in the final. It was Sabalenka’s second consecutive title in Melbourne and her second Grand Slam triumph.

Jannik Sinner won the 2024 Australian Open men’s singles titles to clinch his maiden Grand Slam trophy, coming back from two sets down to beat Daniil Medvedev in the final.

When is the 2024 Australian Open?

The main draw of the Australian Open will be played between January 14 and 28, 2024.

Is the 2024 Australian Open starting on a Sunday?

Yes. In 2024, the Australian Open will start on a Sunday. This makes it the second Grand Slam, after Roland-Garros, to move to a 15-day schedule for the main draw.

Is RAFAEL Nadal playing the 2024 Australian Open?

He was due to play in the Australian Open, but chose to withdraw following a bruise to his hip, sustained in Brisbane.

Having not played since the 2023 Australian Open due to a hip injury, Nadal announced that he would return to action at the Brisbane International, where he reached the quarter-finals.

Who are the defending Australian Open champions?

The defending champion in the men’s singles is Novak Djokovic, and the defending champion in the women’s singles is Aryna Sabalenka.

The other 2023 champions were as follows:

  • Men’s doubles: Rinky Hijikata and Jason Kubler
  • Women’s doubles: Barbora Krejcikova and Katerina Siniakova
  • Mixed doubles: Luisa Stefani and Rafafel Matos
  • Wheelchair men’s singles: Alfie Hewett
  • Wheelchair women’s singles: Diede de Groot
  • Wheelchair quad singles: Sam Schroder
  • Wheelchair men’s doubles: Alfie Hewett and Gordon Reid
  • Wheelchair women’s doubles: Diede de Groot and Aniek van Koot
  • Wheelchair quad doubles: Sam Schroder and Niels Vink
  • Boys’ singles: Alexander Blockx
  • Girls’ singles: Alina Korneeva
  • Boys’ doubles: Learner Tien and Cooper Williams
  • Girls’ doubles: Renata Jamrichova and Federica Urgesi

Are tickets on sale for the 2024 Australian Open?

Tickets for the 2024 Australian Open are on sale. You can buy them online.

Who will be playing at the 2024 Australian Open?

As well as the return of Nadal, the year’s first Grand Slam is also a target for two former champions. Two-time Australian Open champion Naomi Osaka is targeting Melbourne as she returns from maternity leave, and Caroline Wozniacki is planning to return to the scene of her 2018 triumph as she continues her comeback from retirement.

Another former world No 1 returning from maternity leave, Germany’s Angelique Kerber, has stated that she intends to return to the tour in January 2024.

Who have received wild cards for the Australian Open 2024?

Former world No 1 Caroline Wozniacki leads the list of players who have received wild cards for Australian Open 2024.

The Dane, who won the title in Melbourne in 2018, was named as a wild card alongside Kimberly Birrell, Olivia Gadecki, Taylah Preston, and Alize Cornet in the women’s singles draw.

On the men’s side, James Duckworth, Marc Polmans, Adam Walton and Arthur Cazaux have received wild cards in the men’s singles draw.

Who are the Australian Open trophies named after?

The men’s singles trophy is named after Norman Brookes, a three-time Grand Slam and six-time Davis Cup champion as well as a former president of the Lawn Tennis Association of Australia. The women’s singles trophy is named after Daphne Akhurst, a five-time Australian Championships winner (the name of the tournament prior to the Open Era) who died during pregnancy at the age of 29.

Who has won the most Australian Open titles?

Novak Djokovic has won 10 men’s singles titles at Melbourne, picking up his first in 2008. Margaret Court has won 11 women’s singles titles at her home slam, with her first coming before the Open Era, in 1960; in the Open Era, Serena Williams has seven women’s singles titles.

When was the first Australian Open?

The first Australian Open was held in 1905, and that was on grass courts. It didn’t move to hard courts until 1988, when it relocated to the new Melbourne Park complex, then called Flinders Park.

Where is the Australian Open held?

The Australian Open is held at Melbourne Park. Its most famous courts include Rod Laver Arena and Margaret Court Arena, named for the country’s most legendary tennis stars — plus Melbourne Arena and two other show courts.

Who is the Australian Open’s tournament director?

Craig Tiley is the tournament director of the Australian Open. Tiley was named tournament director in 2006. In 2013, he was also named as CEO of Tennis Australia.

Is the Australian Open on social media?

You can follow all the updates from the tournament on Twitter (1.7 million followers), Instagram (2.5 million), and Facebook (2.7 million).

People in this post

Your comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *