10 questions about the 2022 Australian Open: Melbourne, schedule, and Djokovic

The Australian Open kicks off the annual Grand Slam calendar in tennis. Find out everything you need to know about the 2022 edition of the tournament — at least as it stands right now

A general view of Australian Open flags in Melbourne, Australia, January 20, 2021.

When will the Australian Open take place in 2022?

The Australian Open is usually held every year in mid-January (with the exception of a delay until February in 2021 because of the Covid-19 pandemic). The 2022 edition is scheduled to start on January 17 and end on January 30.

Was the Australian Open delayed in 2021?

In 2021, the tournament (originally scheduled for January 18 to 31) was delayed due to the and eventually took place from February 8 to 21.

The men’s qualifying event was held in Dubai, while women’s qualifying action took place in Doha in 2020. As of now, no changes have been announced to the schedule for the 2022 tournament.

Who are the defending champions?

In singles, the defending champions are Novak Djokovic — who beat Daniil Medvedev in straight sets — and Naomi Osaka. A straight-set win over Jennifer Brady gave Osaka her second title in Melbourne. Djokovic won for the ninth time Down Under.

Novak Djokovic
Naomi Osaka, Australian Open, 2021

The other 2021 champions are as follows:

  • Men’s doubles: Ivan Dodig / Filip Polásek
  • Women’s doubles: Elise Mertens / Aryna Sabalenka
  • Mixed doubles: Barbora Krejčíková / Rajeev Ram
  • Wheelchair men’s singles: Joachim Gérard
  • Wheelchair women’s singles: Diede de Groot
  • Wheelchair quad Singles: Dylan Alcott 
  • Wheelchair men’s doubles: Alfie Hewett / Gordon Reid
  • Wheelchair women’s Doubles: Diede de Groot / Aniek van Koot
  • Wheelchair quad doubles: Dylan Alcott / Heath Davidson

Due to the coronavirus restrictions, the junior events and the legends events were not held in 2021.

Who are the trophies named after?

The men’s singles trophy is named after Norman Brookes, a three-time Grand Slam and six-time Davis Cup champion as well as a former president of the Lawn Tennis Association of Australia. The women’s singles trophy is named after Daphne Akhurst, a five-time Australian Championships winner (the name of the tournament prior to the Open Era) who died during pregnancy at the age of 29.

Who has won the most titles at the Australian Open?

Djokovic has won nine men’s singles titles at the Australian Open, picking up his first in 2008. Margaret Court has won 11 women’s singles titles at her home slam, with her first coming before the Open Era in 1960. In the Open Era, it’s Serena Williams who holds the most Melbourne crowns, with seven — the first coming in 2003 and the most recent famously coming in 2017, when she was pregnant with daughter Olympia.

When was the first Australian Open held?

The first Australian Open was held in 1905 — on grass courts. It didn’t move on to hard courts until 1988, when it relocated to the new Melbourne Park complex.

Where is the Australian Open held?

The Australian Open is held at Melbourne Park. Its most famous courts include Rod Laver Arena and Margaret Court Arena, named for the country’s legendary tennis stars — plus Melbourne Arena and two other show courts.

Who is the Tournament Director of the Australian Open?

Craig Tiley is the Tournament Director of the Australian Open. Tiley was named Tournament Director in 2006. In 2013, he was also named as CEO of Tennis Australia.

Has Craig Tiley made any comments about the 2022 edition?

Speaking to radio station 3AW in early July 2021, Tiley said players may not be open to undergoing a hard quarantine in 2022 like they did in 2021.

“I think to get the players to accept again 14 days in a room unable to be a high-performing athlete, unable to prepare in an appropriate way leading into a Grand Slam, is something that we’re not going to be able to do again,” Tiley said. “At this point in our conversations with the playing group, that’s not something they’re going to be open to simply because it’s not something they’re currently doing around the world.”

Does the Australian Open have a social media presence?

You can follow all the updates from the tournament on Twitter (1.6 million followers), Instagram (1.7 million), and Facebook (2.1 million).

Your comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *