Players, dates, tickets, TV: Everything you need to know about the 2023 BNP Paribas Open in Indian Wells (but never had time to find out)

Everything you could possibly need to know about the rescheduled BNP Paribas Open in Indian Wells.

Indian Wells Tennis Garden Icon SMI/Panoramic

You can follow the Indian Wells event on these links on TwitterInstagram and Facebook.

When will the 2023 Indian Wells Masters take place?

The BNP Paribas Open, which is also known as the Indian Wells Masters, will be held from March 8 to 19, 2023. The tournament is the first Masters 1000 event of the year. The women’s event begins on March 8 and the men’s competition starts on March 9.

Will Novak Djokovic play Indian Wells in 2023?

No. US law currently requires non-citizens to be vaccinated against Covid-19 in order to enter the country. Those rules are set to be lifted in May, 2023, and Novak Djokovic, who is not vaccinated, asked for an exemption to enable him to play. On March 5, 2023, the tournament announced that Djokovic had withdrawn from the event, having been seemingly denied entry, though no official confirmation of the denial was forthcoming.

Which other top players are missing from this year’s event?

Rafael Nadal will miss this year’s Indian Wells event as he continues to recover from the hip injury he suffered at the Australian Open. On the women’s side, Naomi Osaka will miss the event because she is pregnant with her first child and Angelique Kerber, who has just had her first child, will not be playing.

Where is the BNP Paribas Open held?

The tournament is held at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden in Southern California’s Coachella Valley.

Zuma / Panoramic

On which surface is the BNP Paribas Open played?

The tournament is played on hard courts.

Does Indian Wells have Hawk-Eye Live?

Yes. Indian Wells was the first event to have Hawk-Eye on all courts and in 2021, it used Hawk-Eye live – electronic line-calling – on all courts, in the wake of the Covid-19 pandemic. It will be used again in 2023.

What happened to the Indian Wells Masters in 2020?

The BNP Paribas Open did not take place in 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic and the related measures imposed by various government officials. The 2021 edition was also postponed from March to October due to the same reason.

How do I get tickets for the BNP Paribas Open?

The details of how to buy tickets to the 2023 edition can be found here.

Who are the defending champions at the BNP Paribas Open?

Iga Swiatek and Taylor Fritz are the defending champions. Swiatek beat Maria Sakkari to win the women’s title in 2022 while Fritz beat Rafael Nadal to win the biggest title of his career to date.

The men’s doubles event was won by John Isner and Jack Sock while the women’s title was won by Zu Yifan and Yang Zhaoxuan.

Who has won the BNP Paribas Open in the past?

Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic are the most successful players on the men’s side at Indian Wells, with both players winning the title five times each. Other multiple champions include Rafael Nadal (3), Michael Chang (3), Jimmy Connors (3), Lleyton Hewitt (2), Pete Sampras (2), Jim Courier (2), Boris Becker (2) and Roscoe Tanner (2).

Roger Federer, 2017 Indian Wells champion
Roger Federer, 2017 Indian Wells champion © antoine couvercelle / panoramic

The women’s event, which began only in 1989, has yet to see a three-time champion. Those who have won the event twice include Martina Navratilova, Mary Joe Fernandez, Steffi Graf, Lindsay Davenport, Serena Williams, Kim Clijsters, Daniela Hantuchova, Maria Sharapova and Victoria Azarenka.

What is the draw size at the 2023 BNP Paribas Open?

The men’s and women’s events will have a draw of 96 players in singles and 32 teams in doubles.

How many ranking points can players earn at the BNP Paribas Open?

For the men and women, as for the other 1000 events, ranking points are awarded as follows:

  • Title: 1000 points
  • Final: 600 points
  • Semi-final: 360 points
  • Quarter-final: 180 points
  • Round of 16: 90 points
  • 2nd round: 45 points
  • 1st round: 25 points

What prize money is on offer at Indian Wells in 2023?

Indian Wells offers equal prize money to the men and women’s events. he total financial commitment at Indian Wells is $8,800,000 and the breakdown for the singles events is as follows.

Winner: $1,262,220
Runner-up: $662,360
Semi-finalist: $352,635
Quarter-finalist: $184,465
Fourth Round: $96,955
Third Round: $55,670
Second Round: $30,885
First Round: $18,660

Which TV channels will broadcast the BNP Paribas Open?

As per the ATP tour website, all ATP Masters 1000 series events will be broadcast on Canal+, Eurosport in France, Amazon Prime Video in the United Kingdom, and the Tennis Channel in the United States. For broadcast partners in other countries, you can click on this link at the ATP tour website.

As per the WTA tour website, WTA events are broadcast on beIN Sports in France, Amazon Prime Video in the United Kingdom, and the Tennis Channel in the United States. For broadcast partners in other countries, you can click on this link at the WTA Tour website.

People in this post

Your comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *